Clay Higgins

Clay Higgins


There is no news available for this member

Loading legislation ... one moment please
Loading votes ... one moment please

There is no media available for this member

Contact Information

Washington, DC 20515
Phone 202-225-2031

Congressman Clay Higgins is a Republican member of Congress proudly serving Louisiana’s Third District, which is home to more than 755,000 people and spans 9 parishes in Southwest Louisiana.

Raised on a horse ranch near Covington, LA, Higgins’ south Louisiana roots run deep. After graduating from Covington High School, he attended LSU and then went on to serve in the United States Army/Louisiana National Guard as a Military Police Officer, and he attained the rank of E-6, Staff Sergeant.

Higgins had many successful years in business, but returned to uniform service as a street cop in 2004. He worked patrol, primarily night shift, and he was a well-known SWAT operator. Prior to joining Congress in 2017, Higgins is best known for his Crimestopper videos for the St. Landry Parish Sheriff’s Office. The program was one of the most successful in the history of law enforcement. Most of the featured crimes were solved and what was most significant was that many of the suspects responded to “Uncle Clay’s” message of redemption and turned themselves in. Captain Higgins continues to actively serve the Thin Blue Line retaining his POST State Certification as a Deputy Marshal in Lafayette, LA.

As a veteran and highly decorated law enforcement officer, Congressman Higgins continues to protect and serve in the nation’s capital. He is a member of the House Committee Science and Space Technology, House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, and House Committee on Homeland Security. A committed Constitutionalist, Congressman Higgins believes in restoring the federal government envisioned by our Founding Fathers. Higgins believes in smaller government, less bureaucracy, free markets, a strong national defense and securing America’s sovereign borders.

Serving With

Steve Scalise


Mike Johnson


Ralph Abraham


Garret Graves