Image of Tom Cole<

Committee on Rules

Tom Cole

Follow along on TwitterFollow along on InstagramFollow along on Rss

There is no news available for this committee.

There is no media available for this committee.

Contact Information

H-152 The Capitol
Washington, DC 20515
Phone 202-225-9191
Fax 202-226-1508

The Committee on Rules is amongst the oldest standing committees in the House, having been first formally constituted on April 2, 1789. The Committee is commonly known as “The Speaker’s Committee” because it is the mechanism that the Speaker uses to maintain control of the House Floor, and was chaired by the Speaker until 1910. Because of the vast power wielded by the Rules Committee, its ratio has traditionally been weighted in favor of the majority party, and has been in its “2 to 1 1” (9 majority and 4 minority members) configuration since the late 1970s.

The Rules Committee has two broad categories of jurisdiction: special orders for the consideration of legislation (known as “special rules” or “rules”) and original jurisdiction matters. A special rule provides the terms and conditions of debate on a measure or matter, consideration of which constitutes the bulk of the work of the Rules Committee. The Committee also considers original jurisdiction measures, which commonly represent changes to the standing rules of the House, or measures that contain special rules, such as the expedited procedures in trade legislation.

The Committee has the authority to do virtually anything during the course of consideration of a measure, including deeming it passed. The Committee can also include a self- executed amendment which could rewrite just parts of a bill, or the entire measure. In essence, so long as a majority of the House is willing to vote for a special rule, there is little that the Rules Committee cannot do.


Image of: Michael Burgess

Michael Burgess


Image of: Tom Cole

Tom Cole


Image of: Michelle Fischbach

Michelle Fischbach


Image of: Guy Reschenthaler

Guy Reschenthaler