H.Res. 607: Celebrating the Fortieth Anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon Landing

H.Res. 607

Celebrating the Fortieth Anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon Landing

Rep. Ralph Hall

July 14, 2009 (111th Congress, 1st Session)

Staff Contact
Sarah Makin

Floor Situation

H. Res. 607 is being considered under suspension of the rules, requiring a two-thirds vote for passage. The legislation was introduced by Rep. Ralph Hall (R-TX) on July 7, 2009. The resolution was referred to the House Committee on Science and Technology, which took no official action.

Bill Summary

H. Res. 607 resolves that the House of Representatives:

•  Celebrates the 40th Anniversary of the Apollo 11 lunar landing;

•  Honors the brave crew of the Apollo 11 mission-Neil Armstrong, "Buzz" Aldrin, and Michael Collins; and

•  Commends all those individuals and organizations who contributed to such a historic achievement that continues to be an inspiration to the Nation and the world.


The Apollo program was designed to achieve the goal established by President Kennedy by sending a crew of three astronauts to the Moon and returning them safely to the Earth. The crew of Apollo 11 consisted of Neil Armstrong, Mission Commander, Buzz Aldrin, Lunar Module Pilot, and Michael Collins, Command Module Pilot. After launching into space aboard a Saturn V rocket on July 16, 1969, on a four day trip to the Moon, Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin successfully piloted the Eagle Lunar Module to the surface of the Moon. On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong took his first step on the Moon.


A Congressional Budget Office (CBO) analysis is not yet available.