H.R. 1177: 5-Star Generals Commemorative Coin Act

H.R. 1177

5-Star Generals Commemorative Coin Act

May 19, 2010 (111th Congress, 1st Session)

Staff Contact

Floor Situation

The House is expected to consider H.R. 1177, on the House floor on Wednesday, May 19, under a motion to suspend the rules, requiring a two-thirds majority vote for passage.  This legislation was introduced by Rep. Dennis Moore (D-KS) on February 25, 2009.

Bill Summary

H.R. 1177 would require the Treasury Secretary to mint and issue up to 100,000 $5 gold coins, 500,000 $1 silver coins, and 750,000 half-dollar clad coins in recognition of five United States Army Five-Star Generals: George Marshall, Douglas MacArthur, Dwight Eisenhower, Henry "Hap" Arnold, and Omar Bradley, alumni of the United States Army Command and General Staff College, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.

The bill would restrict the issuance of the coins to calendar 2013.  The bill also requires specified surcharges in the sale of the coins, which would be paid to the Command and General Staff College Foundation to help finance support of the College.


A CBO cost estimate of H.R. 1177 is not yet available.